Emmy Nominees 2015- Reaction to Comedy and Drama Categories

Well, once again the Emmys managed to throw a massive curve-ball and nominate the unexpected (Adam Driver, Gaby Hoffmann), the relative unknown (who is Neicy Nash?) and the absolutely bizarre (Grace of Monaco. No, really). Let’s go through each category one by one and see what my thoughts are.

Best Comedy Series: I got 6/7 here, with only Parks & Recreation getting in instead of The Big Bang Theory. If I were to get it wrong, that’s what I hoped it would be. This is incredibly pleasing as I can’t stand The Big Bang Theory and the popularity of Parks & Rec. can never be underestimated. I’m still predicting Veep to win.

Best Drama Series: Once again, 6/7, with Empire losing out to Homeland, which makes it’s return after it’s snub last year due to the inclusion of True Detective. This could be considered as being the Emmys not being down with the audience as Empire is very popular with viewers, but got very few nods. Homeland is a safe nomination. It’s between Game of Thrones and Mad Men to win.

Best Comedy Actor: 7 nominees here instead of the expected 6, and only getting 4 correct is pretty disappointing. Instead of Billy Crystal and Emmy favourite and reigning champion Jim Parsons, Anthony Anderson and Will Forte come in, with Don Cheadle returning once again, despite the low ratings for House of Lies. It’s great to see new faces in this category, especially as both Anderson and Forte are actually funny, and Parsons’ snub can be seen as revenge for when he beat the massively overdue Steve Carell in 2011. An easy win for Jeffrey Tambor.

Best Comedy Actress: The most difficult category to call resulted in 4 correct predictions, my top 4, and 2 incorrect, with Gina Rodriguez and Ellie Kemper missing out and Lisa Kudrow and Lily Tomlin coming in. I’m really disappointed for Golden Globe winner Rodriguez and Kemper, who is absolutely perfect on Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, which makes her snub more shocking as it was nominated in Best Comedy Series and 4 of her co-stars were nominated. I should have put in Kudrow, she was always getting in, and Tomlin is an odd one as Grace and Frankie did poorly overall after it’s luke-warm reception upon release. Bet on Julia Louis-Dreyfus, she should win.

Best Drama Actor: I got 4 right here, with Terrence Howard and Clive Owen not making it, and Kyle Chandler and Liev Schreiber coming in. Yes, you read correctly, Liev Schreiber for Ray Donovan, a programme that hardly anyone watched, and if it were to get a nod anywhere it would have been for Jon Voight, who was snubbed. I should of got Kyle Chandler, I just underestimated the success of Bloodline. Jon Hamm should win.

Best Drama Actress: In a field where I thought I was comfortable, I only ended up getting 4, with last year’s winner Julianna Margulies and this year’s Golden Globe winner Ruth Wilson missing out and Elisabeth Moss and Tatiana Maslany getting in on a left field bet. It’s between Viola Davis and Taraji P. Henson for the win, but with Empire’s poor show, including it’s Drama Series snub, it should be Davis’ for the taking.

Best Comedy Supporting Actor: I got 4 out of 6, but it’s the one that I’m most pleased with as some of my favourite actors on television (Andre Braugher, Tony Hale and Tituss Burgess) got nominated, while Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Fred Armisen missing out to Adam Driver returning for Girls, despite it’s decreasing popularity, and Keegan Michael Key, who I thought was in lead as he clearly should have been. He’s this year’s variety choice, one of 3 variety actors nominated this year. I fancy Tony Hale to win his second Emmy, but don’t count of Ty Burrell, as the Academy love him.

Best Comedy Supporting Actress: With 8 nominees in this category, I thought that I would be comfortably getting 6 correct. I got 5 right, with Judith Light missing out to her Transparent co-star Gaby Hoffmann, Jane Krakowski and, most shocking of all, Neicy Nash for Getting On, an actress and show that I’ve never heard of, and the show’s first nomination at any awards show ever. I still fancy Anna Chlumsky to win for Veep, but don’t count out former winners Julie Bowen and Allison Janney.

Best Drama Supporting Actor: In an interesting category, I got 4 out of 6, with some TV legends missing out in Jon Voight (despite Liev Schreiber missing out) and Mandy Patinkin (despite Homeland’s Drama Series nomination), with Alan Cumming and Michael Kelly coming in. They’ve just gone with safe options instead of replacing those safe options with risky choices. I still think Jonathan Banks will win, but don’t count out previous winner Peter Dinklage.

Best Drama Supporting Actress: 5/6 correct and the one that I thought would win, Maggie Smith gets snubbed. Wow. A former nominee, Emilia Clarke comes in. It’ll be either Christina Hendricks or Lena Headey, but I reckon Headey could win for the finale of Game of Thrones.

Look out for my reactions to the Limited Series and TV Movie categories, coming out soon.

Leave a Reply

